ZP Images



A short but successful history 

The Subaru Karting Association of New South Wales Inc. was incorporated in January 2014.

For many years, Picton Karting Track ran racing events at their circuit. The founding members of this club raced in this series. The series needed to grow and venture to new circuits, and the only way that was going to be possible was for the teams to take on the running of the events.

The club began after a conversation between Ray Russell and Mark Pickering. “Hey Mark, I’ve got an idea, would you want to work with me to get this happening?” At times that idea seemed like a lot of work! But ultimately the success of the club is based on this initial idea, take our friends away for the weekend and go racing.

Ray’s idea was to run an event at Port Macquarie and invite karters from Queensland running Subaru karts to a ‘State of Origin’ event.

With the help of Rhonda Leet, Ray & Mark began the journey of the Subaru Karting Association, registering the club, investing in public liability insurance, a second-hand timing decoder & some basic equipment needed to run a race meeting.

The founding members also embarked on writing the first version of our rule book for sprint & endurance racing.

The first event could have been our last. The weather at Port Macquarie was monsoonal, however we were greatly supported by our teams and friends and we are proud to say many of the people that attended the very first event, are still racing with the club today.

By 2015 the club was running a full calendar of racing and had attracted the attention of Karting New South Wales. The club was approach by the then President of KNSW and after many meetings and ultimately a vote by the members the club affiliated with KNSW.

The Subaru KX21 was included for the first time in the National Rule Book as a competition engine, and our race meetings began to gain more credibility and status over the following seasons.

At our first meeting we had just nine teams compete, three years later we were averaging twenty-five teams and occasionally exceeding thirty, not bad for an endurance club.

The impending closure of Fuji Heavy Industries in Japan meant our Subaru power plant suddenly had an expiry date.

In response to this in early 2018, the club voted on a name change to the:

Four Stroke Karting Association of New South Wales Inc.

From 2019 our engine of choice became the: Briggs and Stratton LO206.

The Briggs & Stratton Engine has been an absolute winner for the club. The rev limiter means the engine looks after itself, the engines are even, and the racing close.

The club now boasts professional equipment levels, and it’s own club trailer. We have invested thousands of dollars over the years to improve the racing experience, and will continue to do so.

The clubs vision has always remained the same:

  • We are a social club that goes racing
  • We use a control sealed Briggs & Stratton LO206 tagged motor that can be fitted to most karting chassis, the engine is sealed so you cant touch it, the result is everyone is on a level playing field.
  • We always attempt to run our events professionally and fairly in the interests of competitors
  • We are non-for profit, meaning all money made goes into equipment for the club or promotion of our racing.
  • We visit the best tracks in the ACT & NSW on an annual basis and run eight rounds of racing a year.

Don’t be fooled, this series is super competitive and now boasts huge grids everywhere we visit, be a tenth off in qualifying and you could be outside of the top ten – its close and it’s why we continue to attract some big name drivers on a full time basis.

Our events are more often than not decided by seconds, not laps. This is one of the closest categories you will find.


President – Mark Turnbull
Vice President – Dave Upston
Secretary – Greg Cox
Treasurer – Mark Pickering
Officials Co-ordinator – Shaun Fullagar
Club contact – Rob Russell
General Committee – David Zammit
General Committee – Jayden Woolley


Ray Russell – 2016
Mark Pickering – 2018